RSS Feed

June Update

Sorry for the long delay, it took the encouragement of my friend Lola (she called me a dink) to post a new entry.
I was offline for a couple of months. The internet provider decided to shut off my access because they claimed that I had a virus on my computer. Their suggestion was to wipe out my entire hard drive and call them back when that was done. I’m back online finally. A loud Serbian accent goes a long way with customer service at 8am. Either way I’ll try and update this page more often, but I have just over 2 months to finish the solo show and there’s still plenty to do.

The show is coming along slowly but surely. I’ll post some studio shots as they pile up. I don’t want to post many photos of the actual work because it’s still a bit of a secret. 2 more months of waiting won’t hurt (although, message me and we’ll work something out if it WILL hurt). I bought a giant hydraulic drafting table, which means that there isn’t enough room for me to maneuver to my bed anymore. However, people that know me will be glad to hear that I bought new cushions for my napping-couch and I’m not being stabbed by the nails that were sticking out of the bamboo anymore. It’s awesome and really relaxing (and clean)…like a new toothbrush, which I also bought. Ok, the show. My friend Mariel from Freedom Clothing works at a mascot warehouse and is building me my very own mascot for the show. It’s based on one of the paintings and looks awesome so far. Mariel is also pretty awesome. I’ll post some progress photos of it next time. I don’t remember where I left my camera right now. Along with the standard merch (shirts, prints, books, etc), I am going to be working on a collaborative limited edition t-shirt with Justin from WKY which will also be for sale at the opening. He does great work and is a really nice guy. I don’t want to give too many more details (or shoot off at the mouth) because a few other things aren’t set in stone and need to be taken care of first. I’ve been smoking a lot more these last few weeks, if that gives you a better idea.

I had 5 small pieces in a show at Canteen in Ottawa, as well as an 8x10inch print at the Minnow & Bass Gallery sometime since the last post. My friends Andrea Raymond and Hazel Eckert curated the second show. Andrea made a fantastic needlepoint of Tupac, in case someone can’t think of a birthday gift for me. I couldn’t make it to either reception but I heard great things from the other artists involved.

I was contacted by Toronto band Braxton Clover to draw an album cover, which can be seen below. Also I just got word from my friend Eddie Yuen.Label that issue #2 of The1&Only is hot off the presses in Hong Kong. The1&Only is a biannual book that Eddie puts together. He invites a few illustrators to draw interpretations of the theme (this time the theme was “play”), then distributes it for free worldwide. Eddie is sending me 100 free copies of the book, which will be given away to the first 100 people at my show. He’s also responsible for scoring me a group show and a spread in MILK Mag in Japan, which means that he probably has rights to 15% of my drawing hand or something. Check him out: http://the1nonly.weebly.com/

My website will be up and running (in some form) soon. I can’t imagine that the entire re-design will be done before September, but some sort of sample portfolio will be uploaded by mid-July.

Hopefully this isn’t a terrible entry. I’ve been up all night spraying a drawing with sealer and matte finish and it’s getting tough to concentrate. Staring has become easier though. I know that I’ve left out a lot, but it’ll come back to me in the next entry. I need a vitamin water (LeBron James knows best).

Progress on the portrait drawing (Photo by Dan Chan/Patrick Gray)

Progress on the portrait drawing (Photo by Dan Chan/Patrick Gray)

Wall at Minnow & Bass Gallery

Wall at Minnow & Bass Gallery

Braxton Clover album cover

Braxton Clover album cover

Four different covers for The1&Only #2

Four different covers for The1&Only #2

Spread in MILK Mag

Spread in MILK Mag

Andrea Raymond's Tupac needlepoint

Andrea Raymond's Tupac needlepoint

NIK GOLD beer from Serbia.

NIK GOLD beer from Serbia.

About Nik Dudukovic

Artist & Illustrator - Toronto, Canada www.pilot5.com www.twitter.com/nikdudukovic

Comments are closed.

