RSS Feed

Spring ’11

I cleaned my studio last week. Among the mountains of trash, I found my old cell phone. After figuring out how to turn it on, I stumbled across a bunch of old photos on the memory card. Most of them are pretty forgettable, but the ones below are from a visit to Montreal for the launch of a book that had published a few of my drawings. Also, Montreal sells coconut water and that stuff is delicious.
If anyone knows where to buy it in Toronto, please let me know and I’ll buy you a bottle or two or ten as thanks :)

Summer, park, tequila, water-bottle rum, knife, lemon, shot glass


I have no clue what's on that fork


Montreal Book Launch


Montreal Samson hair


Cloud Children sketches


…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Lately, a lot of people have been asking me where my ideas for drawings begin, what kind of preliminary work I do, and how many steps take place.The process changes a bit every time, but they all start with tiny little sketches. Once the sketch is finished, the next step is to refine it and then sit in a chair for a really long time and draw annoying little lines and a few big fat ones. I realize that I’ve never uploaded any process work to this blog, so here are a couple of sketches accompanied by the finished pieces, as well as a couple of random sketchbook pages.

Sketch 1


Sketch 2


Sketch 3


Sketch Notes

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to create some graphics for The Radio Dept.’s Korean tour. The Radio Dept. write really good music (and I love working on any project with SuperColorSuper), so I jumped all over it. Here’s a crop of the top 1/4 of the poster (I couldn’t get to sleep last night, and now I have no clue where the entire file is saved on my computer. I also went to the store to buy some oatmeal this morning and had a moment of panic because I thought that I had forgotten to put on pants. If I can barely dress myself, file searches are out of the question. Moral of this story: when you buy a new mattress, use it for sleep and not as a paper shelf). —- feel free to ignore 50% of this paragraph

The Radio Dept. graphics

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
This is an older drawing, but it’s titled “The Secret Museum of Mankind” and really should have a place somewhere on this blog. Free 8×10 print of the drawing to anyone who can find both Tupac and Haruki Murakami :) Below it is a portrait of singer/songwriter L O O M, just recently signed to Nevado Records.

The Secret Museum of Mankind - 40 x 60


L O O M

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Even though it’s a holiday, a Black Sabbath shirt just arrived in the mail. Happy Monday :)

About Nik Dudukovic

Artist & Illustrator - Toronto, Canada www.pilot5.com www.twitter.com/nikdudukovic

Comments are closed.

