RSS Feed

Tag Archives: sketchbook

365 Days of Type

My friend Sabrina Smelko created the 365 Days of Type project last year, singlehandedly tackling each daily creation.
For 2014, Sabrina and her partner in crime Shawn Lovering, are showcasing contributions from other designers and illustrators.

Only 39 days in, there is some really great stuff in their gallery. Check out the website here –

wearenotspecial.ca, and follow all of the updates on their twitter – https://twitter.com/WeArentSpecial

Here’s my contribution, #39 :)

365 Days of Type - #39

365 Days of Type – #39

More Portraits

A portrait of my friend Dusan Stojanovski that I recently finished.

Dusan

Dusan

Also, my friend Krys at The Refined Portrait whipped out this awesome drawing of me. I love it.

Copyright Refined Portrait

Copyright Refined Portrait

March

It’s been a pretty busy year so far. I’n working on a few exciting collaborations and personal projects that are still quite far from completion.
Although I can’t post any of them just yet, below are a couple of pieces that I’ve recently finished.

Muntjak Skull - 12x16 inches

Muntjak Skull – 12×16 inches

NikDududkovic_SketchShow_Skull_Crop

Ink and Acrylic on Wood - 12x16 inches

Ink and Acrylic on Wood – 12×16 inches

NikDudukovic_Rose5

2013 Drawings and Sketches

Happy new year! Hope all is well so far, and continues to be :)
I’ve been working on a couple of projects that are pretty secretive as of now, as well as a couple of upcoming ones.
My friend Justin Harris from Savannah, Georgia is curating a show of sketchbook drawings at Ashmore Gallery next week. Usually my sketchbook drawings are REALLY tiny, so it was a bit of a challenge for me to sketch larger. The show sounds really awesome, though. The final list of contains over 125 artists, including some of my current favorite image-makers and rump-shakers.

Sketchbook Show - drawing 2

Sketchbook Show – drawing 2

Here’s the info for the show and opening reception:

Ashmore Gallery – Sketchbook Show

Jesse Balmer……………http://jessebalmer.com/
Jimmy Butcher…………..http://jimmybutcher.com/
Johnny Negron…………..http://jonnynegron.tumblr.com/
Nick Gazin……………..http://skeleteen.livejournal.com/
Alan Chiang……………..http://alanchiang.tumblr.com/
Jermaine Jose…………..http://jermonster.blogspot.com/
Julia Yellow…………….http://juliayellow.com/
Karla Castañeda………….http://karlacastanedaillustration.tumblr.com/
Mildred…………………http://unclemildred.blogspot.com/
Lauren Albert……………http://plslala.com/
Justin C Henry…………..http://www.justinchenry.com/
Nick Sadek………………http://sadekart.com/
Douglas Bicicleta………..http://www.flickr.com/photos/dogrinhasdosteclados/
Hope Gangloff……………http://www.hopegangloff.com/
Vasilis Lolos……………http://steamrobo.blogspot.com/
Tim Kaminski…………….http://www.timkaminski.com/
Lucas Ruggieri…………..http://lucasruggieriillustration.com/
Alex Chiu……………….http://www.alexdoodles.com/
Mike Lawrence……………http://www.mikelawrenceillustration.com/
Jon MacNair……………..http://www.jonmacnair.com/
Ryan Humphrey……………http://ryanhumphrey.co.uk/
Michael C. Hsiung………..http://michaelchsiung.com/
Sean Morris……………..http://www.illsean.com/
Wayne Horse……………..http://waynehorse.com/
Chelsea Swift……………http://www.flickr.com/photos/dmslaggs/
Steven Darden……………http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevendarden/
Schuyler Beecroft………..http://schuylerbeecroft.com/
Emily Anne Quintero……..http://www.emilyquintero.com/
Daniel Guerrero Fernandez..http://www.flickr.com/photos/danielguerrerofernandez/
Xavier Robles De Medina….http://theartofxavier.blogspot.com/
Berje…………………..http://cargocollective.com/berjeee
Niv Bavarsky…………….http://www.nivbavarsky.com/
Andrew Lawandus………….http://doworkdesign.com/
Ty Underwood…………….http://drawnugs.tumblr.com/
Isaac McCaslin…………..http://isaacmccaslinart.blogspot.com/
Darion McCoy…………….http://www.darionmccoy.com/
Sam McKenzie…………….http://samsamsamsam.com/
Mac Taylor………………http://hiremeandmake.us/
John Haverty…………….http://www.johnwilliamhavertyjr.com/
Luke Pelletier…………..http://lukepelletier.tumblr.com/
Irkus…………………..http://www.irkus.net/
Hitnes………………….http://www.hitnes.org/
SAN…………………….http://www.eseaene.com/
Nik Dudukovic……………http://pilot5.com/
Charlotte Jackson………..http://www.charlottebjackson.com/
Brandon Loving…………..http://brandonloving.blogspot.com/
Carty Sewill…………….http://cartyis.me/
Jose Ray……………….http://www.joseray.com/
Lomaho Kretzmann…………http://www.flickr.com/photos/lomaho
Matt Jackson……………http://mjackson.carbonmade.com/
Will Hunt……………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/willalphonzo/
Kyle Joseph……………..http://www.flickr.com/photos/kylejoseph
Melvin………………….http://www.mistermelvin.be/
James Chong……………..http://www.jameschongart.com/
Gabe Gonzales……………http://www.gabegonzales.com/
Liam Barrett…………….http://liam-barrett.com/
Justin L Harris………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/killkillmurderkillkill/
Britt Spencer……………http://www.thedagnabit.com/
Cleonique Hilsaca………..http://cleonique.com/
Luke Pearson…………….http://lukepearson.com/
Sashiko Yuen…………….http://wishcandy.net/
Mattias Adolfsson………..http://www.mattiasadolfsson.com/
Malachi Ward…………….http://malachiward.blogspot.com/
Mari Kanstad Johnsen……..http://marikajo.com/
Singeon Waters…………..http://www.flickr.com/photos/singeonwaters/
Gordon Rabut……………http://www.gordonrabut.com/
Kristin Wong……………http://www.kristinmwong.com/
Alycia Lara Linke……….http://cargocollective.com/a_l_y_c_i_a__l_i_n_k_e/
Mike Force……………..http://www.autotone.net/
Alessandra Hosher……….http://Alessandrahoshor.com
Wasted Rita…………….http://www.wastedrita.com/
Kris Mukai……………..http://www.krismukai.com/
Geoff Gonzales………….http://geoffreygonzales.blogspot.com/
Carly Elizabeth Schmitt….http://www.flickr.com/photos/milkattack
Shalo P………………..http://hellprevails.blogspot.com/
William Emmert………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/emmertwilliam/
Michael Olivo…………..http://michaelolivo.com/
Alexis Ziritt…………..http://aziritt.net/
Michael Skattum…………http://michaelskattum.com/
Patrick Kyle……………http://patrickkyle.com/
Diego Gerlach…………..http://www.flickr.com/photos/diegogerlach/
Brian Mitchell…………..http://briancmitchell.com/
Felix Diaz………………http://www.felixdiaz.com/
Jonathan Djob Nkondo……..http://www.flickr.com/photos/odnokn/
Darin Shuler…………….http://darinshuler.com/
Jesse Fillingham…………http://www.jessefillingham.com/
Cory Hand……………….http://coryhandtattoos.com/
Cam Floyd……………….http://camfloyd.com/
Andrew Brodhead………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewbrodhead/
Kristina Collantes……….http://kristinacollantes.com/
Dieter Van der Ougstraete…http://dietervdo.carbonmade.com/
Cosmic Nuggets…………..http://www.cosmicnuggets.com/
Rowan Tedge……………..http://www.flickr.com/photos/tedgedrawings/
Ricardo Wong…………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/byriw/
Guy McKinley…………….http://www.guymckinley.com/
Halah…………………..http://helkholy.blogspot.com/
Show Chicken…………….http://www.flickr.com/photos/showchicken/
Andrey Flakonkishochki……http://flakonkishochki.ru/
Skyler Page……………..http://skylerpage.blogspot.com/
Ben Tollefson……………http://bentollefson.com/
Jon Taylor………………http://jonnyboytheclown.blogspot.com/
Elgin Braden…………….http://elginbraden.blogspot.com/
Burke Stewart……………http://burkestewart.com
Thomas Hunt……………..http://www.thomashuntillustration.com/
Jordan Crane……………http://whatthingsdo.com/
Kalin Allen…………….http://www.kalinallen.com/
Kali Moon………………http://www.flickr.com/photos/kalimoon/
Heather McRae…………..http://hfinearts.com/
Jenny Eitel…………….http://www.jennyeitelart.com/
William Irving Singer……http://www.wirvs.com/
Agogwe…………………http://www.flickr.com/photos/phokingdragon/
Alabaster………………http://www.illustriousalabaster.com/
Tallboy………………..http://tallboyart.com/
Valleria Hernan…………http://www.flickr.com/photos/valeriahernan/
Sloane…………………http://www.flickr.com/photos/sloanesloane/
Warm Fuzz………………http://www.flickr.com/photos/warmandfuzzyco/
Mettie June
Caris Fawcett
Sean Muldrow
Ali Norman
Clayton Walsh
Daniel Simmons
Carlos Frade

Here are some sample sketches from the work that is currently on it’s way to Savannah :)

Sketchbook Show - drawing 1

Sketchbook Show – drawing 1

Sketchbook Show - drawing 3

Sketchbook Show – drawing 3

Sketchbook Show - drawing 4

Sketchbook Show – drawing 4

Sketchbook Show - drawing 5

Sketchbook Show – drawing 5

Sketchbook Show - drawing 6

Sketchbook Show – drawing 6

Stop by if you’re in the area. Savannah is so awesome, that I’m really envious if it’s your ‘area’ :)

Toronto Main Street – Group Show

On September 29th, “Toronto Main Street” will open to the public. It is a warehouse exhibition, curated by my good friend, and fantastic artist, Stefan Berg.

If you are planning to see Nuit Blanche (which begins at 7:03pm that same evening), stop by 138 Main Street beforehand. Some of my favourite artists in the city will be showing new work.

Below is a copy of the official press release. Please note the public time of 11am – 3pm.

“Join us for a three-day pop-up art exhibition on Saturday, Sept. 29, 2012 from 11am to 3pm. Over 25 artists from Toronto will be exhibiting their works at 138 Main St. and local store fronts.The 4500 square feet warehouse currently under construction will be housing over 50 works curated by Stefan Berg of Lower Dawes Studio. Drawing from a network of contemporary Toronto based artists this exhibition will include such artists as John Brown, Srdjan Segan and Douglas Walker.”

Location:
138 Main Street, Toronto
(Main and Gerard)

TorontoMainStreet.com

Preview
Thursday Sept. 27th, Friday Sept. 28th.
12 to 6 pm or by appointment
contact: Lowerdawesstudio@gmail.com

Main Street Event
Saturday, Sept. 29th 11 am to 3 pm

Closing Reception
Saturday, Sept. 29th, 7 to 9pm.
rsvp: margie@tuneology.ca

Hope you can make it out!
Here are some images of a drawing that I will be exhibiting at the show :)

The Creator of Nature – Plate II – 16×20 in.

Mushrooms and Insects close-up. Approximately actual size :)

Figure and Bones close-up

ReDesign Feature

Last month I was interviewed by Nomy Borenstein from ReDesign, a design/illustration website out of Israel. The final article was published yesterday.

I’m flattered to be featured along such great image-makers (including the awesome Tin Can Forest! They have a bunch of books out with the foxy Koyama Press).

Here is a link to my interview. The google translation is a bit off, so I’ve included a transcript of the inverview below as well.

ReDesign

Can you tell us a bit about your background, when did you start drawing?

I was born in Beograd, Serbia in 1985, and moved to Canada in 1991.
I have fragmented memories of being 3 or 4 years old and drawing cowboys and animals with my dad in our apartment back in Beograd.

I attended OCAD in Toronto, Canada and graduated in 2009 with a BFA in printmaking.

In your bio your work is described as “the secret museum of mankind” and indeed some of your images evoke a fictional prehistory, how did you cultivate your style and themes?

In each image, whether it’s commercial or personal work, I try to reference historical figures/events, hybridity, deities, and monsters. Always monsters.

I worked strictly black and white for a while. That’s because I love old cartoons. Even drawing with ink on layered mylar is an old cel animation technique that I use in my drawings. Then I slowly began adding colour. Only reds and browns at first. They go together well, and I’m still pretty bad with my swatches. Working digitally has allowed me to really open up my palette more than ever.

Long story short, “fictional prehistory” is a perfect phrase and a lot less long-winded.

Can you describe your work process?

I’ll usually sketch out a really small 1×1 inch thumbnail of an idea, while working on more detailed areas on a separate page. I’ll re-draw the original thumbnail at a larger size and use it as a reference when penciling in lines on a sheet of mylar.

Each drawing or painting is planned out quite a bit, so the final image usually looks consistent with the initial sketches, only more realized.

You have done both art and commercial work– is there a difference?

I love both fine art and commercial work equally, but in very different ways.
Commercial work allows me to flex different analytical muscles in the process of realizing somebody else’s ideas. There is a strong fascination and appreciation that I have for collaboration.
My fine art work is an ongoing, self-directed project. It’s taken me down many thematic and stylistic rabbit holes over the years, yet it is the most challenging, yet loving relationship that I’ve had with a series of images. It excites me to no end, because I honestly feel like I’ve barely chipped away at what seems to be a universe of narratives, sequences, and a lifetime of drawing.

Sources of inspiration?

Graphics, diagrams, processes, evolution, history, the brain (not mine), playing basketball, playing ping pong, cartoons, Osamu Tezuka, and all my friends who make really great work on a daily basis. And many other things in my periphery, I’m sure.

What are you working on these days?

I’m finishing up a few private commissions, as well as 3 larger drawings for a group show in Toronto next month. After that, I’ll be in Tokyo and Beijing for October, meeting with gallery owners for a bit (but mainly relaxing and walking around with my girlfriend).

:)